Legacy and Saver System – Final Review

Filed under: System Reviews |

Although the Legacy System comes as part of two systems, with The Saver System also included, for the purposes of these reviews I trialled each separately. Anyone purchasing the systems will receive both together.

I began trialling the Legacy System on 10th February and had no selections for the first 2 days. Over the next week I had 7 bets of which 4 were successful. There are specific criteria for selecting horses and as a result some days may produce 2-3 bets while on others there will be no selections.

Over the month, the Legacy System produced 28 bets of which 13 were winners. This resulted in a strike rate of 46% and gave us a return of 25% on the initial investment. A bank of £1000 finished the month standing at £1253.00.

Summary: I would have to conclude that the Legacy System is well worth inclusion in any portfolio,either as a stand alone, or in conjunction with the Saver System (reviewed below). The system will not throw up many bets a month but with such a high strike rate and ROI it is well worth considering.

****

The Saver System, which is sold in conjunction with the well known Legacy System, is a backing system which focuses on horses which have been successful last time out.

I trialled this system for a month from 10th February and over this period it performed really impressively. From 25 bets there were 14 wins for a strike rate of 56% and a return of £662 for the initial investment of £1000. Of the four systems I trialled during the month, the Saver System performed the most impressively.

Again, similar to the Legacy System there are not many bets per month and the suggestion of operating both together as the one system is worth considering, as that will give users more ‘action’. But the strike rates and profits established in the month of the trial were extremely impressive.

Summary: I would highly recommend the Saver System and recommend it as worth inclusion in every serious backers’ portfolio.

You can read more about the Legacy and Saver system at our original review here, or on the sales page here.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
Posted by on March 25, 2010. Filed under System Reviews. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

17 Responses to Legacy and Saver System – Final Review

  1. I’m surprised that you are recommending a system after such a short trial. I followed the Saver system for 6 months in 2007/08 and it produced 90 selections with 32 wins and a loss of 6 points. I also tracked the Legacy system for 56 selections and only 17 won with a 15 point loss.

    I’m not saying that both systems are rubbish, just illustrating that less than 30 selections doesn’t produce enough evidence to recommend buying a system

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

    Brian
    March 26, 2010 at 3:01 pm

  2. That’s a fair enough comment Brian, and of course there is always the challenge of how long / how many selections represents an accurate and fair trial.

    It is definitely the case that Legacy/Saver had a purple spell during the trial, and I’d be wary of anticipating this level of performance on an ongoing basis. However, that said, on the evidence of the trial period and the rationale in the methods, I remain happy to endorse my reviewer’s findings.

    Best,
    Matt

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

    Matt
    March 26, 2010 at 4:21 pm

  3. Theoretically in handicaps all horses should dead heat for first place but of course that never happens despite the handicappers best efforts.It should however never be possible for one horse in a handicap to have a better chance of winning than all the other horses put together !
    I advise punters therefore ,simply to lay all odds on favourites in handicaps on the flat,the jumps,and the all weather (which gives the best results of all !)
    Apart from the profits, another advantage I appreciate is that using this system your liability is always less than your stake yet losing runs are very short so your risks are minimised.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)

    IAN JOSEPHS
    March 26, 2010 at 5:00 pm

  4. hi, matt,I bought the legacy system about 2 years ago now and followed it for about 2 months.I know its not long enough to make a proper analaysis but i was not impressed and made a loss,I did not follow the saver system as I was to busy at the time.The reason why I was not impressed was in its selection process,ie backing x favorite at said course in said race type,just trying to hit the high percentage of winners in certain conditions,without giving any concern to the horses form or going or any of the usual factors etc. Having said that I have since learnt how to rate races and I am looking at rating the selections and so far my results are encouraging,but as a what I now call a cold system I would not recomend it .
    Paul

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    paul
    March 26, 2010 at 5:01 pm

  5. Thanks Paul, that’s interesting, and of course – as Legacy just had a great month – so systems have poor months. That’s the cyclical nature of all betting. There is NO system out there that gives consistent, flat line profits (except maybe FP System!), so I’d be loathe to call it a cold system on the back of a short trial where you excluded one of the two systems (though I appreciate time constraints are a genuine issue for people, and also that many people drop a system a lot quicker than eight weeks in…)

    Best,
    Matt

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    Matt
    March 26, 2010 at 5:28 pm

  6. Hi Ian

    Some figures for you that (just about) support your statements, NH first then Flat (AW and turf all in together), both for the past five years:

    YEAR WINS RUNS STRIKE% LSP LSP% VSP%

    2005 24 44 54.55 -1.85 -4.20 -3.84
    2006 45 92 48.91 -13.44 -14.61 -11.50
    2007 34 69 49.28 -10.08 -14.61 -14.26
    2008 33 65 50.77 -10.24 -15.75 -10.47
    2009 10 15 66.67 1.68 11.20 9.03
    ____________________________________________________________

    146 285 51.23 -33.93 -11.91 -9.60

    YEAR WINS RUNS STRIKE% LSP LSP% VSP%

    2005 24 48 50.00 -6.87 -14.31 -16.24
    2006 73 138 52.90 -16.26 -11.78 -12.05
    2007 81 138 58.70 -1.10 -0.80 0.66
    2008 98 172 56.98 -6.52 -3.79 -2.71
    2009 81 160 50.63 -22.11 -13.82 -14.46
    ____________________________________________________________

    357 656 54.42 -52.86 -8.06 -7.79

    Best Regards,
    Matt

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    Matt
    March 26, 2010 at 5:32 pm

  7. Dear Matt, I found the Legacy a pretty decent little system and i must be one of the longest and oldest followers at 82 years young! I have been using it for 3 years and i hit around 70-80 points plus profit every year. Yes it does have 3 or 4 losing months a year but you lose very little so its easily recoverable. I only bet £50 stakes so clear around £3,500 – £4,000 which is not a kings ransom but i have yet to find anything better. Tip for followers; bet on Legacy selections that have market support and the strike rate improves even more than your review. The only other system i used to follow was uncle ernies horses to follow, big priced winners but i havent seen it around for a long time. Charles

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    charles
    March 26, 2010 at 5:41 pm

  8. Thanks Charles, for your long term view. Good to hear my suspicions being backed up.

    As for Uncle Ernie, I remember it well. Don’t know what happened to it either…

    Best,
    Matt

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    Matt
    March 26, 2010 at 6:56 pm

  9. Now theres a blast from the past The legacy. I bought that in in 1999 in a book version and it really did churn out the winners! In fact i bought little acorns because of the legacy as it was from the same people ADT Publications. I will have to dust it off, i only stopped becuase my kids arrived and betting went out of the window. good to see something has stood the test of time. Is there a link to order or someway of contacting them as my version would probably be out of date by now. They did say they would send crucial racecourse updates bypost but i have moved address since 1999 and they probably do them by email now.
    Cheers Matt!
    MickeyG

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    MickeyG
    March 26, 2010 at 8:29 pm

  10. These systems as with any tipster needs a year’s trial mimimum – Brian’s right.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    Jim Atkins
    March 26, 2010 at 9:43 pm

  11. minimum even, well it is the weekend.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    Jim Atkins
    March 26, 2010 at 9:43 pm

  12. Hi Charlie & Matt I was intriged by your comment so I went onto the search engine and typed in uncle ernie and came up with this site, http://www.uncle-ernie.co.uk, I don’t know if it is Charlies uncle ernies horses to follow perhaps he could let us know.
    All the best Dave

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    David Bird
    March 27, 2010 at 8:37 am

  13. Hi Jim

    That’s an opinion which I don’t necessarily subscribe to. It’s more about the number of selections in the trial period being statistically representative.

    Having said that, obviously in the case of one month trials, the period is too short, and typically the reviewer will use not just the trial period, but also the logic (or otherwise) in the method itself, plus any means of back testing he has at his disposal.

    Thus, it is possible for a system to perform badly in review and still get a positive review, and vice versa: a system can perform well in review and still get a negative final write up.

    Best,
    Matt

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    Matt
    March 27, 2010 at 10:03 am

  14. David Bird, Well Done! Thats the Uncle Ernie i was referriing to! I only every received info by post for this one, didnt think to look on the internet for it. I see its in its 23rd year. I will give the web page a good read tonight and may purchase again as its used to get some massive price winners. Thanks again!
    Charlie

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    Charles
    March 28, 2010 at 10:34 am

  15. Hi,
    we have september now! WHY do you present us a half year old review again?
    What are the reasons for this

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    Gerald
    September 22, 2010 at 8:17 am

  16. Gerald

    I presume you didn’t read the bit in my email that said this review – and others – are from the archives. I don’t review systems that are only current for one week. This system has been performing well for years, not months or weeks.

    Please try to read the content of the emails and reviews I send, as you’ll get more value from them that way! ;-)

    Matt

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    Matt
    September 22, 2010 at 8:25 am

  17. Good feedback here on the Legacy and Saver systems, which I have been eager to buy and are available as one lot. Should I buy it?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

    joseph
    January 21, 2012 at 3:31 am

Leave a Reply